New Adult Fiction for June

“Ascension of Larks” by Rachel Linden. This stunning women’s fiction debut is for fans of Jodi Picoult and JoJo Moyes—one woman’s journey to finding joy after tragedy and embracing the beauty of an unexpected life.

“Behind the Throne” by K.B. Wagers. In a world where the only safe options are fight or flight, Hail must rule.  Hail Bristol has made a name for herself in the galaxy for everything except what she was born to do: rule the Indranan Empire.  When she is dragged back to her home planet to take her rightful place as the only remaining heir, she finds that trading her ship for a palace is her most dangerous move yet.

“Dangerous Minds: A Knight and Moon Novel” by Janet Evanovich. Buddhist monk Wayan Bagus lost his island of solitude and wants to get it back. The island was about two hundred miles northeast of Samoa. It had a mountain, beaches, a rain forest, and a volcano. And now it’s gone. Poof! Vanished without a trace.

“The Force” by Don Winslow. Denny Malone “is ‘the King of Manhattan North,’ a, highly decorated NYPD detective sergeant and the real leader of ‘Da Force.’ Malone and his crew are the smartest, the toughest, the quickest, the bravest, and the baddest, an elite special unit given unrestricted authority to wage war on gangs, drugs and guns.

“Gwendy’s Button Box” by Stephen King & Richard T. Chizmar. There are three ways up to Castle View from the town of Castle Rock: Route 117, Pleasant Road, and the Suicide Stairs. Every day in the summer of 1974 twelve-year-old Gwendy Peterson has taken the stairs, which are held by strong (if time-rusted) iron bolts and zig-zag up the cliffside. A stranger calls to Gwendy: “Hey, girl. Come on over here for a bit. We ought to palaver, you and me.”

“Here and Gone” by Haylen Beck. It begins with a woman fleeing through Arizona with her kids in tow, trying to escape an abusive marriage. When she’s pulled over by an unsettling local sheriff, things soon go awry and she is taken into custody. Only when she gets to the station, her kids are gone. And then the cops start saying they never saw any kids with her, that if they’re gone than she must have done something with them…

“Lilac Girls” by Martha Hall Kelly. Caroline Ferriday, a socialite in New York, has her hands full with her post at the French consulate, but on the eve of a fateful war, her world is changed forever when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September, 1939; and then sets its sights on France. Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, an ocean away from Caroline, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspcting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

“Lost and Found Sisters” by Jill Shalvis. After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, sous-chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.’s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she’s looking for a missing piece she can’t find?

“Love Like Blood” by Mark Billingham. DI Nicola Tanner needs Tom Thorne’s help. Her partner, Susan, has been brutally murdered and Tanner is convinced that it was a case of mistaken identity–that she was the real target. The murderer’s motive might have something to do with Tanner’s recent work on a string of cold-case honor killings she believes to be related. Tanner is now on compassionate leave but insists on pursuing the case off the books and knows Thorne is just the man to jump into the fire with her.

“Our Little Racket” by Angelica Baker. On September 15, 2008, the world of Greenwich, Connecticut, is shaken. When the investment bank Weiss & Partners is shuttered, CEO Bob D’Amico must fend off allegations of malfeasance, as well as the judgment and resentment of his community. As panic builds, five women in his life must scramble to negotiate power on their own terms and ask themselves what –if anything–is worth saving.

“River with No Bridge” by Karen Wills. In frontier historical novel River with No Bridge, Nora Flanagan, at age eighteen, leaves Boston in 1882 to marry a miner in Butte, Montana. She anticipates achieving the respectability and security denied her as a tinker’s daughter in Ireland. Instead, she experiences tragedy, disgrace, and redemption. Three men love her: her husband who dies in a mine explosion; the secretive gambler who abandons her, leaving her pregnant; and half-Chinese Jim Li who becomes her life partner despite prejudice against them.

“The Silent Corner: A Novel of Suspense” by Dean R. Koontz. “”I very much need to be dead.” These are the chilling words left behind by a man who had everything to live for–but took his own life. In the void that remains stands his widow, Jane, surrounded by questions destined to go unanswered . . . unless she does what all the grief, fear, confusion, and fury inside of her demands: find the truth, no matter what”–

“The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter” by Theodora Gross. “Mary Jekyll, alone and penniless following her parents’ death, is curious about the secrets of her father’s mysterious past. One clue in particular hints that Edward Hyde, her father’s former friend and a murderer, may be nearby, and there is a reward for information leading to his capture–a reward that would solve all of her immediate financial woes.”

“Trap the Devil” by Ben Coes. A group of some of the most powerful people in the government, the military, and the private sector, has begun a brutal plan to quietly take over the reins of the U.S. government. They’ve begun to remove the people who stand in their way–and replace them with their own sympathizers and puppets. They’ve already taken out the Speaker of the House–whose death was made to look like an accidental drowning–and the president and vice president are next. Once they have their own people in place, they plan to start a bloody, brutal war on an unimaginable scale.

This is just a sampling of new books now available from any of the four branches of Josephine Community Libraries, thanks to funding from the Carpenter Foundation, the Meyer Memorial Trust, Grants Pass Friends of the Library, and donors like you and your neighbors.