budget and finance

Josephine Community Library District is supported by a permanent tax rate of 39 cents per $1,000 of assessed property value for property owners within the district. The district serves about 39,000 residents in four noncontiguous areas surrounding the branch libraries in Grants Pass, Illinois Valley, Williams, and Wolf Creek, plus additional properties which have been approved for annexation into the district. This tax base was created when voters approved measure 17-79 on May 16, 2017 by 53 percent of the vote.

In addition to the tax base, the district collects revenue from fines and fees, interest earnings, grants, and donations. Most donations are raised by the district’s support groups: the Josephine County Library Foundation and the Friends of the Library.

Upcoming budget meeting

The board of directors will hold the annual Budget Committee Meeting on Wednesday, April 15, 2020. This will be a virtual meeting hosted through Zoom  in compliance with the Office of the Governor Executive Order 20-12, “Stay Home, Save Lives.” The agenda will include the FY21 budget message and public comment. A copy of the budget document may be obtained on or after Thursday, April 9, 2020 on the library website or by email request to info@josephinelibrary.org. If special physical, technical, or language accommodations are needed for this public session, please notify Josephine Community Library District by email or by calling
541-476-0571 at least four hours prior to the session.

The phone number to call into the Zoom meeting is 720-707-2699. Please contact the library at
541-476-0571 or info@josephinelibrary.org for the Zoom ID number and/or to submit public comment.

Budget Committee Meeting
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Preliminary agenda
Budget message
FY 2020-21 budget




For detailed information about the district’s revenues and expenditures, please refer to the budgets below.

FY20: July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020

FY19: July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019

FY18: July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018

FY20 Budget Committee

The following are the members of the Josephine Community Library District FY20 Budget Committee. The budget officer is Library Director Kate Lasky. Board members serve four-year terms and appointees serve three-year terms.

To be considered as a Budget Committee appointee, download and complete the Volunteer Committee Application for Board Appointment (pdf) (Microsoft Word). Email the application to info@josephinelibrary.org.

committee member board member or appointee affiliation term
Gina Marie Agosta board member patient experience coordinator
Beecher Ellison, JD board member law librarian, paralegal
Josephine County Legal Counsel
Pat Fahey board member general manager,
Sutherlin Sanitary Service
John Harelson, CPA
Board President
board member CPA, former County Treasurer 2019-2023
Bill Kohn, MD appointee physician, retired 2019-2022
Jay Meredith, CPA
Budget Committee
Vice Chair
appointee finance director, City of Grants Pass 2017-2020
Tom Miller appointee library department chair, retired
Rogue Community College
Cassie Robinson, MSA appointee director of finance,
Club Northwest
Laurel Samson, MBA
Board Vice President
board member consultant, Laurel Samson Management Services
former city manager, City of Grants Pass
Joanne Stumpf appointee finance director, retired, City of Grants Pass 2020-2024

updated 4/9/2020