budget and finance

Josephine Community Library District is supported by a permanent tax rate of 39 cents per $1,000 of assessed property value for property owners within the district. The district serves about 39,000 residents in four noncontiguous areas surrounding the branch libraries in Grants Pass, Illinois Valley, Williams, and Wolf Creek, plus additional properties which have been approved for annexation into the district. This tax base was created when voters approved measure 17-79 on May 16, 2017 by 53 percent of the vote.

In addition to the tax base, the district collects revenue from fines and fees, interest earnings, grants, and donations. Most donations are raised by the district’s support groups: the Josephine County Library Foundation and the Friends of the Library.

For detailed information about the district’s revenues and expenditures, please refer to the budgets and financial statements below.

FY20: July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020

FY19: July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019

FY18: July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018

FY20 Budget Committee

The following are the current members of the Josephine Community Library District FY20 Budget Committee. The budget officer is Library Director Kate Lasky.

If you are interested in serving on the Budget Committee, click here to download the Volunteer Committee Application for Board Appointment (pdf) (Microsoft Word). Please submit your application to info@josephinelibrary.org.

committee member board member or appointee affiliation term
Beecher Ellison, JD board member Josephine County Chief Deputy Clerk 2017-2021
John Harelson, CPA board member CPA, former County Treasurer 2017-2019
Bill Kohn, MD appointee physician, retired 2017-2018
Jay Meredith, CPA
Budget Committee
Vice Chair
appointee finance director, City of Grants Pass 2017-2020
Tom Miller appointee library department chair, retired
Rogue Community College
Jim Polk
Budget Committee Chair
appointee recorder/treasurer, retired,
City of Cave Junction
Jennifer Roberts, Ph.D.
Board Vice President
board member freelance writer and
professional speaker
Laurel Samson, MBA
Board President
board member consultant, Laurel Samson Management Services
former city manager, City of Grants Pass
Joanne Stumpf appointee finance director, retired, City of Grants Pass 2017-2019
Judy Williams, MBA board member corporate financial executive, retired,
Alexander & Baldwin, Inc.


updated 7/14/2019