essential district information


In the May 16, 2017 special election, voters approved Measure 17-79 to form a smaller, noncontiguous library district. The results were 52 to 47 percent in favor of the measure. See details about election results.

The new library district, which will be officially formed on June 14, 2017, will provide stable, permanent funding to meet the ever-increasing demand for basic library services. Specifically, this sustainable funding will make possible more open hours across the four library branches throughout Josephine County and more and better books and other circulating materials.

With the defeat of countywide library district measures in 2006 and 2014, library supporters concluded that the 2017 version of the measure should have the district boundaries include the service areas around the libraries. This means that the approved library district is made up of just those voting precincts that surround one of the four public library branches in Grants Pass, Cave Junction, Williams, and Wolf Creek.

This smaller district provides a foundation of permanent stable funding for the future. The library district has its own taxing authority and its own voter-elected governing library district board completely separate from county government.

This library district is being formed with a permanent, dedicated tax rate of 39 cents per $1,000 of assessed property value for those living within the library district boundaries. Funds raised by the tax can only be used for the library district, and cannot be diverted to other county departments. This will be enforced by annual financial audits.


Updated 1/11/2017