Budget and finance

A permanent tax supports the library district, which was created when voters approved Measure 17-79 on May 16, 2017.

Josephine Community Library District is supported by a permanent tax rate of 39 cents per $1,000 of assessed property value for property owners within the district. The district serves about 39,000 residents in four noncontiguous areas surrounding the branch libraries in Grants Pass, Illinois Valley, Williams, and Wolf Creek, along with additional properties which have been approved for annexation into the district. In addition to the tax base, the district collects revenue fees, interest earnings, grants, and donations. Most donations are raised by the library district’s support groups: the Josephine Community Library Foundation and Friends of the Library. For detailed information about the district’s revenues and expenditures, please refer to the budgets below.

Notice of Budget Committee Meeting

The Josephine Community Library District Budget Committee will meet on Wednesday, May 18, 2022. This will be a virtual meeting hosted through Zoom (meeting ID #860 8798 6075). The phone number to call into the meeting is (669) 900-9128.

The agenda will include the FY23 budget message and public comment. Click the “View FY22-23 budget” button below to view a copy of the budget document.

If special physical or language accommodations are needed for this public session, please notify Josephine Community Library District at info@josephinelibrary.org or 541-476-0571 at least 48 hours prior to the session. Accommodations will be made available through the Grants Pass branch at 200 NW C Street, Grants Pass, 97526.

Budget history

FY23: July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2023

FY22: July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022

FY21: July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021

Budget Committee members

Gina Marie Agosta
Board member, 2019-2023
Patient experience coordinator, Asante
Former nonprofit executive director
Rachele Selvig
Board member, 2021-2025
Partner, Davis, Hearn, Anderson & Turner, P.C.
Pat Fahey
Board President, 2019-2023, Budget Committee Chair
General manager, Sutherlin Sanitary Service
Laurel Samson
Board vice president, 2021-2025
City government consultant and retired city manager, City of Grants Pass
Brenda Aguilera
Board member, 2019-2023
Program manager, Project Youth Plus
Former Spanish teacher, Grants Pass High School
Bill Kohn, MD
Appointee, 2019-2022
Physician, retired
Jay Meredith, CPA
Appointee, 2021-2025, Budget Committee Chair
Finance director, City of Grants Pass
Tom Miller
Appointee, 2019-2022
Library department chair, Rogue Community College, retired
Cassie Robinson, MSA
Appointee, 2020-2024
Finance director, Club Northwest
Joanne Stumpf
Appointee, 2020-2024
Finance director, City of Grants Pass, retired