Library board honored with statewide award

April 25, 2018 in

The Oregon Library Association presented its 2018 Library Supporter of the Year Award to the Josephine Community Libraries, Inc. Board of Directors at its conference in Eugene on April 20. The Library Supporter of the Year Award is presented for exceptional efforts to support and promote libraries.
The association chose to honor Josephine Community Libraries, Inc. for its leadership and commitment to bringing library services back to Josephine County.

“We’re so proud and happy for this statewide recognition of our libraries in Josephine County,” said Library Director Kate Lasky. “This system has always relied on volunteers, exemplified by this volunteer board which has worked hard for many years to keep the libraries open. Our board members were a major force in finally creating a library district in our county last year.”
At the presentation last Friday, district board vice president Jennifer Roberts related the nonprofit board’s accomplishments over the years. “These people mean a whole lot to me,” Roberts said. “They are some of the finest, most generous, and all-around grooviest people I’ve ever had the honor to work with. I can’t think of a more deserving group of people.”
Ms. Roberts then presented the award to the nonprofit’s board treasurer Pat Fahey, secretary and past president Sara Katz, and board member Donna Robinson.
Other board members honored include President Shad Shriver and board members Dennis James, Kathy Krauss, David Mannix, and DonnaJean Wendle.
The Oregon Library Association provides advocacy, education, leadership, and collaboration to continually strengthen Oregon’s libraries and the communities they serve. More than 1,000 librarians, library employees, and library supporters are part of the association.
Press Play to see the award presentation.